Late Shot by Julio Cesar Martinez Brings No Contest, Charlie Edwards Remains Champion

🇬🇧Charlie Edward’s (15-1-0, 6KO) retains his WBC World Flyweight Title after his bout against 🇲🇽Julio Cesar Martinez (14-1-0, 11KO) is officially ruled a no contest.

Martinez was bringing the heat to Edwards, sending explosive left hands that had the champion on his heels. Initially Martinez was ruled the victor after sending Edwards to his knees on the canvas in the third round. However, while Edwards was already on the canvas another body shot was landed by Martinez before Edwards was counted out. After review the shot was ruled illegal and brought the WBC decision of a no contest.

WBC President has stated the foul was accidental and not intentional, so there will be an immediate rematch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s